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Vermont’s Non-filers and Statistics on Renters 
VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF TAXES, OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER, October 2022 
 

Who are the Vermonters who don’t file income taxes? 
 

• Vermonters are required to file a state income tax return if they are required to file federally 

and earned or received more than $100 of Vermont income. 32 V.S.A. § 5861 

(legislature.vermont.gov) 

• People are required to file federally if their “gross income” is over the federal standard 

deduction amounts, which are: $12,950 for Single, $19,400 for Head of Household, and 

$25,900 for Married (plus the additional $1,400 standard deduction for being 65+ or blind, if 

applicable) 

• Importantly, the federal filing requirement thresholds are a little higher for people receiving 

social security because some of it may be nontaxable. For people on social security, the 

thresholds are $25,000 if the person is single or $32,000 if married. For these filers, gross 

income is calculated differently: 50% of all social security benefits plus any tax-exempt 

interest plus all other gross income.  

• This means that a not insignificant share of Vermont’s population is not required to file a 

Vermont income tax return. In 2018, the Tax Department estimated the Vermont non-filer 

population at between 12% and 16%, or around 70,000 adults; the majority of whom are 

legitimate non-filers. 

 

Do any of them pay property taxes? If so, how many? 
 

• Yes, in 2020 there were about 8,000 homesteads where neither the filer nor the spouse 

filed an income tax return 

• Also, the Census reported about 13,000 more owner-occupied homes in 2020 than the 

department’s total for declared homesteads. These could be households paying the non-

homestead property tax rate and they may or may not pay income taxes.  

• That means that there are probably between 10,000 and 20,000 resident households 
that pay property taxes but not income taxes.  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/151/05861
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/32/151/05861
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Where do Vermont’s renters live and what are their incomes? 
 
 

Vermont's Renter Households - Distribution by County and Income 
County State Share Households Under $25K $25K to $50K $50K to $100K $100K and Over 

Chittenden 33%               24,663  30% 26% 32% 12% 
Washington 10%                 7,517  30% 30% 30% 9% 
Rutland 10%                 7,223  42% 31% 22% 5% 
Windham 8%                 6,188  43% 26% 24% 8% 
Windsor 8%                 6,000  37% 26% 31% 6% 
Franklin 6%                 4,283  32% 28% 30% 10% 
Bennington 5%                 3,886  38% 31% 21% 9% 
Addison 5%                 3,633  27% 28% 34% 12% 
Caledonia 4%                 3,148  43% 34% 18% 5% 
Lamoille 4%                 3,009  32% 33% 27% 8% 
Orleans 3%                 2,569  39% 29% 26% 7% 
Orange 3%                 2,451  28% 41% 24% 6% 
Essex 1%                     489  42% 40% 16% 2% 
Grand Isle 1%                     419  32% 28% 30% 10% 

Source: Census 2020 American Community Survey, Table B25118  
 


