ONE BALDWIN STREET MONTPELIER, VT 05633-5701

SEN. JANE KITCHEL, CHAIR SEN. PHILIP BARUTH SEN. ANN CUMMINGS SEN. RICHARD SEARS, JR. SEN. RICHARD WESTMAN



TEL: (802) 828-2295 FAX: (802) 828-2483 https://ljfo.vermont.gov/

REP. EMILIE KORNHEISER, VICE CHAIR REP. JAMES HARRISON, CLERK REP. DIANE LANPHER REP. ROBIN SCHEU REP. THERESA WOOD

STATE OF VERMONT GENERAL ASSEMBLY

LEGISLATIVE JOINT FISCAL COMMITTEE

Thursday February 9, 2023 Approved Minutes

Hybrid Meeting: Room 5 and https://www.youtube.com/@VTJointFiscal/featured To review specific testimony, please click the video time links {00:00:00} below.

Members present: Representatives Harrison, Kornheiser, Lanpher, Scheu, and Wood. And Senators Baruth, Cummings, Kitchel, Sears, and Westman.

Other attendees: Joint Fiscal Office and Administration staff, and various viewers in person and through live streaming.

A. Call to Order and Committee Organization

The meeting was called to order at 12:00pm.

Representative Wood nominated Senator Kitchel as Chair; Representative Harrison seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 on the motion and elected Senator Kitchel as Chair. [00:00:10]

Representative Lanpher nominated Representative Kornheiser as Vice Chair; Senator Westman seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 on the motion and elected Representative Kornheiser as Vice Chair. [00:01:38]

Representative Kornheiser nominated Representative Harrison as Clerk; Representative Scheu seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 on the motion and elected Representative Harrison as Clerk. [00:02:20]

B. Adoption of Committee/Office Policies (00:03:11)

Senator Sears moved to adopt the Committee/Office Policies as written. Representative Lanpher seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 and adopted the Policies.

C. Approval of December 14, 2022, Minutes (00:08:33)

Senator Westman moved to accept the December 14, 2022 meeting minutes as written. Representative Wood seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 and adopted the minutes.

D. Grants

- 1. Sorsha Anderson, Senior Staff Associate, Joint Fiscal Office, gave a brief introduction to the grants process. [00:10:11]
- 2. VT Community Broadband Board (VCBB) JFO #3136 [00:19:00]

 June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service
 Robert Fish, Deputy Director, VT Community Broadband Board
 Alissa Matthews, Special Projects Director, VT Community Broadband Board

Senator Westman moved to accept the grant as written. Representative Lanpher seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 and the grant was accepted.

3. VT Department of Health – Senior Health Asbestos and lead Engineer JFO #3137 [00:30:46]

Elizabeth Wirsing, Senior Environmental Health Program Manager, Department of Health

Senator Baruth moved to authorize the creation of one limited-service position as written in the grant. Senator Sears seconded the motion. The committee voted 10-0-0 and the creation of the limited-service position was authorized.

Adjourn at 12:38 PM

Respectfully submitted, Erin Viera, Senior Staff Associate Joint Fiscal Office

Link to recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AoAboIog_0