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Provider Taxes

Context

The pre-COVID 19 split between State and federal dollars in

funding the State’s Medicaid program has traditionally
been roughly 40% State/ 60% federal

Note: This chart doesn’t take into consideration the infusion of federal dollars the State has received in
response to the COVID-19 public health emergency




Provider Taxes
Context

Provider taxes account for 10% of TOTAL funding sources for
Medicaid (including federal dollars)

Note: This chart doesn’t take into consideration the infusion of federal dollars the State has received in
response to the COVID-19 public health emergency 3




Provider Taxes
Context

Provider taxes account for 24% of the State dollars used for
Medicaid

B = General Funds

Note: other funds include things such as beneficiary premiums, certified local
match, settlements, interest, recoveries, and other dollars that have been
earmarked for Medicaid.



Provider Taxes - Vermont

* Provider taxes are deposited into the General Fund v

 These and other funds/dollars combined are used to draw federal
matching dollars to fund the Medicaid program

 The Medicaid program has multiple match rates

FY 2021 RATES STATE SHARE GROSS
Federal Medical Assistance Percentage | $1.00 - $2.20

(FMAP)
o 54.39% Federal / 45.61% State

o Applied to the majority Medicaid expenditures

Children’s Health Insurance
Program (CHIP)
o 70.95% Federal / 29.05%

State

o Applied to Medicaid expenditures for
approx. 4,300 low-income children
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Childless New Adults
o 90% Federal / 10% State

o Applied to the Medicaid expenditures for
approx. 35,000 childless adults

Note: These rates do not include the additional 6.2% FMAP states receive as part of the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act 5



Current Vermont Provider Tax

FY 2020
Rate

(% of net patient FY '20 Revenue
Class of Provider revenue) (x millions)
Hospitals 6% $150.19
MNursing Homes $4,919.53 per bed (6%) $14.71
Home Health 4.25% 55.58
Intermediate Care Facilities 5.90% 50.08
Pharmacy $0.10/script 50.30
Ambulance 3.30% 51.01

$172.37




Provider Tax: Classes

19 Federal Classes of Health Care Services

Inpatient hospital services® Services of managed care  Therapist services
organizations

Outpatient hospital Ambulatory service centers Nursing services

services™

Nursing facility services™ Dental services Laboratory and x-ray

services

Services of intermediate Podiatric services Emergency ambulance

care facilities™ services™

Physicians’ services Chiropractic services Other health care items or

Home health care Optometric services services for Wh_'Ch the IENE

CBryicEe® has .e.nac’.ced a licensing or
_ - _ _ certification fee

Outpatient prescription Psychological services

drugs*

* Class currently assessed in Vermont



Provider Taxes: Other States ﬁ

Based on a 50-state survey conducted by Kaiser in
2019:

e 2003: 21 states had at least one provider tax

e 2019: 49 states and the DC had at least one health
care provider tax

* The most common type of provider tax used by states:
* Nursing Homes (44 states)
* Hospitals (43 states)
* Intermediate Care Facilities (35 states)

Sources: Kaiser Family Foundation (2019) and MACPAC (January 2020) 3



Provider Tax

Federal parameters

e States can use provider tax revenues as part
of the state share of Medicaid

* Federal law does not prohibit provider tax
revenue from exceeding 25% of the State
Medicaid dollars used to get federal match

 We used to think it did
e 42 USC § 1396b(w)(5) says there is a 25% cap

 But 42 USC § 1396b(w)(1)(A)(iv) says (w)(5) applied
“only with respect to State fiscal years (or portions
thereof) occurring on or after January 1, 1992, and
before October 1, 1995”

 CMS has confirmed it does not




Provider Tax

Federal parameters

* Provider taxes must comply with federal law,

[HEN

including:

— Must be broad based — must apply across class of
health care items/services/providers

— Must be uniformly applied — e.g., same licensing
fee across class, same per-bed licensing fee across
class, same assessment rate on gross or net
receipts

— Must not hold providers harmless — cannot
guarantee, directly or indirectly, that tax paid will
be returned to providers to make them whole

e Safe harbor: presumption that this requirement is met
if tax is £ 6% of net patient revenue



