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Commissioner Trenholm’s Draft on Income, Estate, and TPP Taxes – v2 
 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX 

Personal Income Tax is the largest source of revenue in Vermont, accounting for 

nearly two thirds of General Fund dollars.  The Personal Income Tax in Vermont 

tends to be more resilient to the aging population effect the entire country is facing 

as compared to other states, partially due to its treatment of income items as 

taxable which closely follows the federal treatment.   

The Commission received only one item of public comment regarding the personal 

income tax.  That comment was regarding the medical expense deduction which 

the legislature addressed in its 2019 session. 

According to the JFO Ten Year Tax Study, of the total income taxes collected in 

2015, individual income tax was 86% of that total.  In FY 2020, this tax is forecast 

to be 66% of General Fund sources and 41% of total revenue sources. 

The legislative change made to use federal adjusted gross income as the taxable 

starting point makes it easier to compare Vermont to other states because that is the 

most common tax base used by states as a starting point for taxable income.  The 

legislature retained personal exemptions as well as a standard deduction for all 

taxpayers.  This system puts all taxpayers in the same filing category with the same 

number of exemptions in parity, contributing to the “fairness” goal of our personal 

tax structure.   The legislation retained a credit up to $1,000 for voluntary 

charitable contributions and a medical expense deduction which was added to give 

residents with high medical expenses, the primary population being older residents, 

the “fairness” our system strives to achieve. 

 There are four filing statuses with rates ranging from 3.35% to 8.75% with the 

highest rate starting at $200,200 of taxable income for single individuals, $121,875 

for married filing separately, $243,750 for married filing jointly and $221,950 for 

head of household. 

The Vermont income tax is a tiered rate tax which by its nature is a progressive 

tax.  According to the JFO’s Ten Year Tax Study, in 2015 with the top tax bracket 

of 8.95%, the average tax rate was 3.4%. The average tax rate takes into account 

all income taxes paid divided by all taxable income.  For example, a person whose 

VT taxable income is $300,000 and is married filing jointly, would have a total 

Vermont tax of $ 19,698. The average tax rate in this case would be 6.6%, even 

though each dollar of taxable income over $243.750 is taxed at 8.75% 

The Study also concluded that the upper 5% of taxpayers paid 48% of the 

individual income tax in 2015.  This also supports other research done that shows 
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the majority of the Vermont population is in the lower income cohorts, the higher 

the effective tax rate, more taxpayers would be in the upper income cohorts.   It is 

important to note that pass through entity business income is part of the personal 

income tax revenue stream because, although the income may be generated from 

business activities, it is reported as personal income because it passes through to 

the individual owners. 

The Ten Year Tax Study also looked at Income Tax Expenditures by value.  A tax 

expenditure is a tax deduction or credit that is available to decrease taxable income 

in the case of a deduction or exemption, or the actual tax itself, in the case of a tax 

credit.  These expenditures are used to aid certain individuals or to incentivize 

certain behavior.  According to the Ten Year Tax Study prepared by the JFO, in 

2015,  the Earned Income Tax Credit accounted for 49% of Vermont income tax 

expenditures, the 40% capital gains exclusion accounted for 18%, the flat $5,000 

capital gain exemption accounted for 13%, the exclusion of income from Vermont 

Municipal Bond interest accounted for 5% and all others accounted for 15%.  The 

legislature has reduced the 40% capital gain exclusion by placing a ceiling on the 

amount of gain that is subject to the exclusion which will bring down the cost to 

Vermont of this tax expenditure.   

 

 

Recommendations of this Commission: 

 

The Commission has few recommendations regarding the Personal Income Tax.  

The Legislature restructured the personal income tax within the last three years 

which incorporated the shift in the tax base from federal taxable income to federal 

adjusted gross income but retained the standard deduction and personal 

exemptions, added a tax credit for charitable contributions with a maximum credit 

of $1,000 and a formula based medical expense deduction. This was a major 

change to Vermont Personal Income Tax.  These changes were recommended by 

the Blue Ribbon Tax Structure Commission in their 2011 report. 

 

Recommendations made by the Blue Ribbon Tax Commission in that same report 

that were not adopted by the Legislature were: 

• Implement a lower, flatter rate and bracket structure 

• Implement a residential credit as a transparent alternative to deductions 

• Evaluate all remaining personal income tax expenditures for removal 

• Reduce the number of filing statuses from four to two, single and joint 
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In response to the first bullet point, the Legislature did reduce the top bracket by 

.2%. 

In response to the second bullet point, the Legislature left in the standard 

deduction. 

 

Vermont has one of the most progressive personal income tax structures in the 

Country.  As this is one of the goals of a fair tax system, this Commission has 

minor recommendations to change the structure.   

 

The Commission discussed a wealth tax in the spirit of progressivity.  Many states 

have studied some form of wealth tax but have found that it is extremely difficult 

to administer and very subjective when it comes to valuation of assets that are not 

publicly traded or available.  Florida had a form of wealth tax which it eliminated a 

few years ago because of its complexity in administration.  The Commission does 

not recommend a wealth tax. 

 

• Review the current system of renter rebate which is complicated and 

difficult to administer.  The Commission recommends simplification to the 

calculation as well as restructuring the credit to conform to this 

Commission’s recommendations within the Education Funding section of 

this report.  The rebate can retain its character as a refundable credit with a 

scale based on income and eliminate the arduous verification process that 

requires landlords to issue a form to the tenant that must be included with 

the tenant’s tax return.   

• Continue to promote the remote worker program through incentives to move 

to Vermont.  This will increase the taxpayer base in the state, providing 

additional personal income tax revenue and future stability to the personal 

income tax.  It is also a climate conscious approach to increasing the 

population and tax base of the state which minimizes the amount of motor 

vehicle traffic which helps to minimize our carbon footprint. 

• Study the “Benefits Cliff” and find ways to lessen the steepness of that cliff 

since it is a disincentive for taxpayers to earn more money due to the steep 

drop off of benefits which in many cases costs the taxpayer more in lost 

benefits than is made in additional wages. 

• Continue to review the tax expenditures to ensure these expenditures are 

accomplishing the purpose for which they were intended. 

PASS-THROUGH INCOME TAX 

 

The Pass Through Income Tax (PIT), although more of a business income tax, 

generally falls under the Personal Income Tax structure due to its pass-through 
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nature.  Nationwide as well as in Vermont, most small businesses are organized as 

some form of pass-through entity, which passes taxable income and loss to its 

owners to be reported on the owner’s personal income return.  Therefore, this 

income although business related, is recorded as personal income and not business 

income. 

 

The Commission received no public testimony regarding the PIT. 

 

The Commission prepared a Backgrounder on the taxation of pass-through entities 

and non-resident withholding.  Reference is made herein to that Backgrounder. 

 

As with the rest of the country, the growth in pass-through entity as a choice of 

business entity for taxation has grown in popularity over the years.  The following 

chart is from Table 1 of the Backgrounder for illustration purposes: 

 
                                               2009     2010     2011     2012        2013      2014       2015      2016     2017 

C Corp (1120)                      10,436  10,386  10,285  10,121        9,798     9,738     9,777     9,637     9,559 

S Corp (1120S)                    14,649  14,620  14,213  14,208      14,233   14,331   14,608   14,568   14,468  

Partnership (1065)                 9,384    9,406    9,864    9,778        9,899   10,188   10,737   10,989   11,327 

 

Most LLCs are taxed as partnerships, LLPs are taxed also as partnerships.  This 

table illustrates the shift from C Corporations which are taxed at the entity level, to 

pass-through entities, which are taxed at the individual level.  This also accounts 

for the decrease in the percentage of total tax revenue that the corporate tax has 

exhibited. 

 

The challenge in the tax collection from pass-through entities is not with entites 

that are owned by Vermont residents, rather with those that are owned by non-

residents.  Vermont presently has two ways to collect the tax from these non-

residents at the entity level.  The first is mandatory non-resident withholding 

required by the entity for entities with 50 or less non-resident shareholders, 

partners or members.  Pass-through entities (PTEs) with more than 50 non-resident 

shareholders, partners or members are required to file a composite return, and 

business entities with less than 50 non-resident shareholders, partners or members 

may elect to file a composite return.  The difference between non-resident 

withholding and composite filing is that owners who are included in a composite 

return are relieved of the obligation to file their own income tax return, provided 

there is no other income or activity that creates a requirement to file in Vermont.   
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In 2017, the Department of Tax initiated a Program to Improve Outcomes Together 

(PIVOT) project to study how it processes Non-Resident Withholding.  The 

Department of Tax has implemented all changes that were recommended. 

 

The Non-Resident Withholding is a very important part of the individual income 

tax collection structure.  Although it places some administration on the pass-

through entity itself, it is necessary to ensure collection of the tax from non-

resident owners as well as parity with resident owners who are required to pay 

estimated taxes.   

 

As a result of changes in federal tax law in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, the 

federal itemized deduction for state and local income, real property and other 

deductible taxes for individuals is capped at $10,000.  This has led a handful of 

states to institute a tax at the entity level which is deductible on the entity level 

federal return, some mandatory and some elective.  This entity level tax could be 

controversial in Vermont but could be a solution to the administrative burdens on 

the businesses as well as the Vermont Department of Tax through simplification of 

the process and the elimination of the need for non-resident individuals to file a 

Vermont return if that is the only Vermont source income they have.  At present, 

many PTEs have tax-exempt partners that are exempt also from Vermont income 

tax.  Unfortunately the Tax Department has no way of knowing if a member of a 

PTE is tax exempt unless they file a Vermont tax return, which many feel they do 

not have to due to their tax exempt status.  This results in automatic assessments 

against the business for the non-resident withholding that would be due on the 

income passed through to the tax exempt member, if they were not tax exempt.  

This can be a major source of frustration for the business owner to have to resolve.  

Taxation at the entity level would eliminate that. 

 

Recommendations of this Commission: 

 

• Study the affect on Vermont PTEs of an entity level tax for the reasons 

stated above to replace the present system of non-resident withholding and 

composite return filing. 

• Consider mandatory composite filing for all PTE with non-resident 

members.  Continue to allow the individual non-residents to file a Vermont 

return and take a credit for their share of the taxes paid.  This would alow the 

individual to utilize available Vermont losses against the PTE income 

included in a composite return.  This option would eliminate the burden on 

the business of justifying that a member is exempt from the withholding, and 

shifts the burden to the member to get a refund of the tax deemed paid on 
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their behalf as part of the composite return and all of the correspondence that 

the Tax Department must generate to ensure compliance. 

 

 

ESTATE TAX 

 

Vermont is one of only twelve states that has an estate tax.  Six other states have an 

inheritance tax.   The only state in the geographic region of Vermont, i.e. New 

York and New England, only New Hampshire does not have an estate tax. 

According to the Ten Year Tax Study conducted by JFO (2005-2015), the average 

annual estate tax revenue was $22.3M with years ranging from a high in 2011 of 

over $35M to a low in 2015 of less than $10M. By its nature, the estate tax is not a 

predictable and stable source of tax revenue as evidenced by the large swings from 

year to year in actual tax collected.  According to the In FY 2020, this tax is 

forecast to be 2% of General Fund sources and 1% of total revenue sources. 

 JFO Ten Year Tax Study, of the total income taxes collected in 2015, estate tax 

was 1% of that total.   

The Commission received no public testimony regarding the estate tax. 

The Vermont Estate Tax is assessed based on taxable estate before exemption, less 

a $5M exemption, with a flat tax rate of 16% on taxable income after applying the 

exemption. 

The Vermont Estate Tax has been overhauled by the Legislature over the last four 

years and presently is in line both in rate and exemption amount with our 

neighboring states. For these reasons, the Commission did not study the Estate Tax 

in great depth. 

 

The Commission discussed Inheritance Taxes as compared to the Estate Tax.  The 

difference between the two taxes is as follows: 

 

• The Estate Tax is assessed against the decedent’s estate based on the fair 

market value of the decedent’s taxable estate less the Vermont exclusion. 

• An inheritance tax is assessed against the person receiving the inheritance, 

subject to certain exclusions depending on the relationship to the decedent.   

The Estate Tax is assessed against the estates of both Vermont residents and non-

residents who own property in Vermont.  This effectively taxes the wealth transfer 

of assets located in Vermont, either by physical location or ownership by a 

Vermont resident.  The decedent’s property that is included in their estate receives 

what is known as a step up in basis to the fair market value of the property at the 



 

7                            COMMISIONER TRENHOLM DRAFT - FOR DISCUSSION                          November 2, 2020 

date of death.  This stepped up basis becomes the new basis for the beneficiaries of 

the estate.There is a percieved fairness to the step up because the decedent 

acquired in most cases those assets with funds that had already been subject to the 

income tax.  Elimination of the basis step up would subject the asset to both the 

estate tax and personal income tax when the property is disposed of by the 

beneficiary of the estate.   

 

An inheritance tax would be paid by residents of Vermont who are beneficiaries of 

an estate, the estate being resident or non-resident of Vermont makes no 

difference.  An inheritance tax coupled with the estate tax has the potential to tax 

the same assets twice.  Also an inheritance tax would be much harder to enforce 

than the estate tax, since death is a matter of public record whereas an inheritance 

from a non resident would need another layer of individual reporting which adds 

complexity to the system.   

 

Recommendations of this Commission: 

 

• Continue to monitor what our neighboring states are doing relative to the 

estate tax and also the federal estate tax legislation.  Although the Vermont 

Estate Tax has completely decoupled from federal, it is important to make 

sure the Vermont exemption is not greater than the Federal exemption since 

the Vermont exemption is set and not scheduled to change with any changes 

in the Federal estate tax exemption. 

• Study the possible elimination of the present estate tax structure and replace 

it with a “capital gain” type of tax on death, similar to the Canadian 

structure.  This type of structure would still need to have some form of 

exemption to maintain the progressivity of Vermont’s overall tax structure.  

This would be a major change and would have to be carefully analyzed since 

no other state has this structure. 

• Consider updates to Vermont Estate Tax Statutes as federal changes are 

made. 

 

 

 

 

CORPORATE INCOME TAX 

 

The corporate income tax is a tax levied on the taxable income of a corporation 

that is taxed as a C Corp, thus not a PTE and the corporation, not the individual 
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pays tax on the taxable income.  Vermont is one of 45 states, as well as the District 

of Columbia that levy a corporate income tax on business profits.  According to the 

JFO Ten Year Tax Study, of the total income taxes collected in 2015, corporate 

income tax was 13% of that total.  Reference is made to the Personal Income Tax 

and Pass-Through Income Tax sections of this report which discusses the shift to 

pass through entities as the most common entity structure which explains why the 

corporate tax collections are low when compared to the total income tax 

collections. In FY 2020, this tax is forecast to be 8% of General Fund sources and 

5% of total revenue sources. 

The Commission received no public testimony regarding the corporate income tax. 

 

One controversial source of corporate tax revenue as a result of the 2017 Tax Cuts 

and Jobs Act has been the repatriation of foreign earnings.  It os the opinion of 

both the Vermont Department of Tax and Legislative Council that this repatriated 

income is subject to Vermont tax and has accounted for an uptick in 2019 and 

expected 2020 fiscal corporate tax collections.  The Commission id not study this 

element as it is considered to be a one-time affect based on a major change in 

federal tax law. 

 

The Vermont Corporate Income Tax Brackets are as follows: 

Tax Bracket (taxable income) Tax Rate (%) 

$0+ 6.000% 

$10,000+ 7.000% 

$25,000+ 8.500% 

The starting point in calculating Vermont taxable income is federal taxable income 

plus or minus state specific differences. 

 

The Commission prepared a Backgrounder entitled Corporate Income Tax-

Sourcing of Sales of Services in May of 2019.  The legislature decided to take up 

this same topic and before the session ended, had passed legislation to change the 

way income is apportioned to Vermont for services revenue.  Vermont had been 

using the cost of performance rule, apportioning the income based on where the 

cost of performance of the services is incurred.  This was the traditional way of 

apportioning service revenue.  Market based sourcing apportions the service 

revenue to the state which the benefit of the service is received or will be used.  

Reference is made to the Backgrounder for a more in depth discussion of the 
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different approaches.  The legislation change the sourcing of revenue to Market 

Based Sourcing. 

 

Vermont, like many states, is a unitary tax state.  Under a unitary tax approach, 

governments treat a multistate corporation as a group made up of all its local 

branches, instead of treating each local branch as an individual entity separated 

from the global chain. The profits that the multinational corporation declares as a 

group are then apportioned to each state where it operates based on how much of 

its real economic activity took place in that state.  Further, under unitary tax, there 

are two approaches to determine what is included in the receipts factor numerator 

of each member, Joyce and Finnegan (both named after California Administrative 

Tax Decisions). 

 

The difference between the “Joyce” and “Finnigan” methods is receipts factor 

calculation. ... Under “Joyce,” the receipts factor numerator of each member is 

calculated on its own. Under the “Finnigan” method, the numerator of the 

combined group is calculated as though the members of the combined group are a 

single entity.  Vermont is a member of the Multistate Tax Commission (MTC) and 

both Vermont and the MTC use Joyce.  Currently, the MTC is hearing testimony 

and considering adopting Finnegan to replace Joyce.     

 

Vermont currently uses a three factor sales apportionment formula based on 

sales/receipts, property in Vermont and Payroll in Vermont all versus total 

sales/receipts, total property and total payroll.  As of January 1, 2020, eighteen of 

the forty seven states and DC that levied a corporate income tax still use the multi 

weighted factor approach.  The rest use a single sale factor approach.  The base for 

taxable income is federal taxable income with certain additions and subtractions 

for deductions Vermont does not allow like bonus depreciation.  The Vermont 

differences between federal and state taxable income are in line with most other 

states.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recommendations of this Commission: 

 

• Request that the Tax Department study the effect of adopting Finnegan with 

respect to Unitary Tax apportionment.  As a member of the MTC, if 
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Finnegan is adopted by the MTC, although Vermont does not have to adopt 

it, conformity with the MTC as a member is important provided the switch is 

either revenue positive or at a minimum, revenue neutral. 

• Request that the Tax Department study the effect of a adopting a Single 

Sales factor approach to apportionment for multistate corporations.  If 

feasable, this would put Vermont in a more competitive position since 

Vermont is one of only eighteen of forty seven states with a form of 

corporate income taxation that uses the three factor approach.  This could 

also add a competitive advantage to Vermont based businesses that are 

multistate businesses by not increasing their Vermont apportionment factor 

due to the fact the business is located in Vermont, its property is in Vermont 

and its payroll is primarily or exclusively in Vermont.  This change, unless 

the legislature sees the competitive factor for Vermont businesses as the 

driving factor, should be at a minimum revenue neutral. 

• Continue to study tax expenditures related to the corporate tax to ensure they 

are still serving their intended purpose. 

 

 

 

TELEPHONE PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX (TPP) 

 

The Telephone Personal Property Tax is a tax on every person or entity owning or 

operating a telephone line or business in Vermont.  The tax equal to 2.37 percent of 

net book value as of the preceding December 31st of all personal property located 

in Vermont, used in whole or in part for conducting a telecommunications 

business. The applicable law is located at Vermont Statutes Title 32, Section 8521.   

 

Any person or entity that owns or operates a telephone line, or that owns or 

operates a business that provides telecommunications services, is subject to the 

telephone personal property tax. Persons or entities that provide traditional 

telecommunications services through a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 

are subject to the telephone personal property tax. Persons or entities that provide 

telecommunications services through mechanisms other than a PSTN, including 

Voice over Internet Protocol (VOIP) technology, are also subject to the telephone 

personal property tax. 

 

All personal property used in whole or in part for conducting a telecommunications 

business is subject to this tax, including personal property under construction, 

materials, and supplies. Property subject to tax as real property is not subject to the 

Telephone Personal Property Tax. 
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“Net book value” of personal property means the original cost less depreciation of 

the property as computed for the federal income tax return required to be filed with 

the federal authorities for the corresponding tax year. Accelerated depreciation 

taken in accordance with Federal income tax law, including “bonus depreciation” 

under IRC § 168(k), is includable when calculating net book value.  This 

depreciation would include bonus depreciation allowed at the federal level.  This 

can result in the case of currently allowed 100% bonus depreciation in a taxable 

net book value of zero. 

Per Fiscal Facts and the Vermont Tax Study, 2005-2015, TPP revenue fell from 

$10.5M in 2005 to $7.9M in 2010, $7.7M in 2015, $4.7M in 2018, and was 

forecast to drop to $3.2M by FY21. 

According to the Vermont department of Tax, there are currently sixteen filers and 

the annual cost to administer this tax is about $25,000. 

The telecommunications landscape is changing rapidly in Vermont as well as the 

entire United States.  “Land lines” as they are referred to are in many cases being 

replaced solely by cellular phone communications, which is not subject to this tax, 

rather is taxable in another Section of the Vermont Tax Code.  This would beg the 

question of how much new investment in property subject to this tax will be made 

going forward, which will be a contributing factor to the annual decline in revenue 

from this tax.  The following recap was found in a 2015 white paper authored by 

the National Conference of State Legislatures entitled “Property Taxation on 

Communications Providers: A Primer for State Legislatures”. 
In Vermont, most businesses pay property taxes on real property and personal property. Property 

generally is assessed at 100 percent of fair market value. In the case of business personal property, a 

town may provide that such property is to be assessed at (1) fifty percent of its cost (with a ten percent 

floor), or (2) at its net book value (with a ten percent floor), at the election of the taxpayer. Most 

intangible personal property is nontaxable, and a specific exemption exists for money, securities, 

mortgages, and other evidences of debt. Municipalities, at their discretion, may elect to not tax business 

inventory. Valuation methods for real and personal property vary from locality to locality, but the cost 

(based on replacement cost), income, and market data approaches are used. Real and personal 

property, except land and buildings, used in carrying on a telephone business in Vermont is exempt from 

local taxation. Each person or corporation owning or operating a telephone line or business in Vermont, 

excluding resellers of telephone transmission capacity who do not own or operate and telephone lines 

or transmission facilities in the state, are subject to central assessment by the Vermont Department of 

Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review. This state-imposed tax is imposed on the net book 

value of all personal property of the owner or operator located in the state. Cable companies are 

assessed locally. A state-imposed education property tax is also levied on all nonresidential property. 

Real and personal property, except land and buildings, used in carrying on a telephone business in 

Vermont is exempt from the education property tax. Cable companies are subject to the education 
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property tax.  

https://www.nbrc.gov/uploads/Application%20Materials/VT%20Telecom%20Plan%202014.pdf 

 

 

Recommendations of this Commission: 

• Consider the repeal of this tax as it is declining every year and is based on 

somewhat outdated technology as a base for the tax, and replace the lost 

revenue with another source based on more contemporary and long-term 

sustainanble technology.  Also supporting the repeal of this tax is the fact 

that the same equipment used by cable companies to provide telephone 

service are taxed at the local level, and not the state level.  As technology 

with respect to provision of voice communications systems, so must the 

methods of taxation applied to them change.  The Vermont Department of 

Public Service Vermont Telecommunication Plan 2014 also discusses the 

decline in the use of traditional telephone communication.  

https://www.nbrc.gov/uploads/Application%20Materials/VT%20Telecom%

20Plan%202014.pdf 
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