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The Relationship between Minimum Wages and Tipped Wages 

The following information shows the relationship between minimum wages that apply to most 

workers in a state and the minimum wage that employers must pay employees who get at least 

a specified portion of their wages from tips. 

Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees as of January 1, 2017 

 

−  
 

  
State requires employers to pay tipped employees full state minimum wage before tips. 

  
State requires employers to pay tipped employees a minimum cash wage above the minimum cash 

wage required under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ($2.13/hour). 

  
State minimum cash wage payment is the same as that required under the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act ($2.13/hour). 

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (WHD); January 1, 2017; see 
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#Vermont 

https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#Vermont
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Table of Minimum Hourly Wages for Tipped Employees, by State, as of January 1, 2017 

Jurisdiction 

Basic 

Combined 
Cash & Tip 

Minimum 
Wage Rate 

Maximum 

Tip Credit 
Against 

Minimum 
Wage 

Minimum 
Cash 

Wage 1 

Definition of 

Tipped 
Employee by 

Minimum Tips 
received 

(monthly 
unless 

otherwise 
specified) 

FEDERAL: Fair Labor Standards 

Act (FLSA) 
$7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $30 

State requires employers to pay tipped employees full state minimum wage before tips 

Alaska        $9.80   

California  

      

  

$10.00 

 

$10.50 

  

Applicable to employers with 25 
employees or less 

Applicable to employers with 26 
employees or more 

Guam        $8.25    

Minnesota:          

Large employer 2        

$9.50, 
effective 

August 1, 
2016 

  

Small employer 2        

$7.75, 
effective 

August 1, 
2016 

  

Montana:          

Business with gross annual sales 

over $110,000 
      $8.15   

A business not covered by the Fair 
Labor Standards Act whose gross 

annual sales are $110,000 or less 

      $4.00   

https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot1
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot2
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot2
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may pay $4.00 per hour. 
However, if an individual 

employee is producing or moving 
goods between states or 

otherwise covered by the federal 

Fair Labor Standards Act, that 
employee must be paid the 

greater of either the federal 
minimum wage or Montana's 

minimum wage.  

Nevada10 

With no health insurance benefits 

provided by employer and 
received by employee 

      $8.25   

With health insurance benefits 
provided by employer and 

received by employee 

      $7.25   

Oregon        $9.75   

Washington        $11.00   

State requires employers to pay tipped employees a minimum cash wage above the minimum 
cash wage required under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ($2.13/hour)  

Arizona $10.00 $3.00 $7.00 Not specified  

Arkansas  $8.50  $5.87 $2.63 More than $20 

Colorado  $9.30 $3.02 $6.28 More than $30  

Connecticut  $10.10     At least $10 

weekly for full-

time employees 
or $2.00 daily 

for part-time in 
hotels and 

restaurants. Not 
specified for 

other industries.  

Hotel, restaurant    
36.8% 

($3.72) 
$6.38   

Bartenders who customarily 
receive tips 

  
18.5% 

($1.87) 
$8.23   

Delaware  $8.25 $6.02 $2.23  More than $30  

District of Columbia*  $11.50 $8.73 $2.77  Not specified  

https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot10
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Florida  $8.10 $3.02 $5.08    

Hawaii  $9.25 $0.75  $8.50 More than $20  

*Hawaii: Tip Credit in Hawaii is permissible if the combined amount the employee receives from the 
employer and in tips is at least $7.00 more than the applicable minimum wage. 

*District of Columbia: As a result of the "Fair Shot Minimum Wage Amendment Act of 2016," the District 

of Columbia will increase the minimum cash tip in proportions beginning July 1, 2017.  

Idaho  $7.25 $3.90 $3.35  More than $30  

Illinois  $8.25 

40% of the 
applicable 

minimum 
wage 

$4.95 $20  

Iowa  $7.25 $2.90 $4.35 $30 or more 

Maine  

$9.00, 

effective 
01/07/2017 

$4.00 $5.00 More than $30  

Maryland  $8.75 $5.12 $3.63 More than $30  

Massachusetts  $11.00 $7.25 $3.75  More than $20  

Michigan  $8.90 $5.52 $3.38 Not specified  

Missouri  $7.70 50% ($3.85) $3.85 Not specified  

New Hampshire  $7.25 

55% of the 
applicable 

minimum 
wage 

45% of the 
applicable 

minimum 
wage 

More than $30  

New York          

Information on New York requirements for the payment of tipped employees is available at 
https://labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/factsheets/pdfs/p717.pdf; see table below. 

North Dakota  $7.25 

33% of the 
applicable 

minimum 
wage 

$4.86 More than $30  

Ohio 5 
 

Employers with annual gross 
receipts of $299,000 or more 

$8.15 $4.07 $4.08 More than $30  

Oklahoma 6  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 Not specified 

Pennsylvania  $7.25  $4.42 $2.83  More than $30  

https://labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/factsheets/pdfs/p717.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot5
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot6
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Rhode Island  $9.60 $5.71 
$3.39, 
effective 

01/01/17 

Not specified  

South Dakota  $8.65 
50% 

($4.325) 3  
$4.325  More than $35  

Vermont 
An employee of a hotel, motel, 
tourist place, or restaurant who 
customarily and regularly receives 
more than $120.00 per month in 
tips for direct and personal 
customer service. 

$10.00 $5.00 $5.00 More than $120 

  

Virgin Islands $8.35 $5.01 
40% 

($3.34) 
Not specified  

Wisconsin 8  $7.25 $4.92 $2.33  Not specified  

West Virginia 7  $8.75 70% ($6.13) $2.62 Not specified  

State minimum cash wage payment is the same as that required under the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act ($2.13/hr.)   

Alabama 9        $2.13    

Georgia 9        $2.13    

Indiana  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13  Not specified  

Kansas  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $20  

Kentucky  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13  More than $20  

Louisiana 9      $2.13    

Mississippi 9      $2.13    

North Carolina 4  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13  More than $20 

Nebraska  $9.00 $6.87 $2.13  Not specified  

New Jersey  $8.44 $6.31  $2.13  Not specified  

New Mexico    $7.50   $5.37 $2.13 More than $30  

Puerto Rico  $7.25 $5.12  $2.13 More than $30 

South Carolina 9       $2.13    

Tennessee 9       $2.13    

Texas  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13  More than $20  

https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot3
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot8
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot7
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot4
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot9
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Utah  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 More than $30  

Virginia  $7.25 $5.12 $2.13 Not specified  

Wyoming  $5.15  $3.02  $2.13  More than $30  

 

Some states set subminimum rates for minors and/or students or exempt them from coverage, or have a 

training wage for new hires. Such differential provisions are not displayed in this table. 

FOOTNOTES 

1 Other additional deductions are permitted, for example for meals and lodging, except as noted in 

footnote 8.  

2 Minnesota. Effective August 1, 2014, a large employer means an enterprise whose gross volume of 

sales made or business done is not less than $500,000. A small employer means an enterprise whose 

gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $500,000. 

3 In New Jersey and South Dakota, the listed maximum credit is the total amount allowable for tips, 

food and lodging combined, not for tips alone as in other states.  

In New Jersey, in specific situations where the employer can prove to the satisfaction of the Department 

of Labor and Workforce Development that the tips actually received exceed the creditable amount, a 

higher tip credit may be taken. 

4 North Carolina. Tip credit is not permitted unless the employer obtains from each employee, either 

monthly or each pay period, a signed certification of the amount of tips received. 

5 Ohio. For employees of employers with gross annual sales of less than $299,000, the state minimum 

wage is $7.25 per hour. For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal minimum wage of 
$7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President's signature to change.  

6 Oklahoma. For employers with fewer than 10 full-time employees at any one location who have gross 

annual sales of $100,000 or less, the basic minimum rate is $2.00 per hour. 

7 West Virginia. The state minimum wage law applies only to employers with six or more employees and 

to state agencies. 

8 Wisconsin. $2.13 per hour may be paid to employees who are not yet 20 years old and who have been 

in employment status with a particular employer for 90 or fewer consecutive calendar days from the date 

of initial employment. 

9 The following states do not have state minimum wage laws: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South 

Carolina, and Tennessee. Georgia has a state minimum wage law, but it does not apply to tipped 
employees. 

10 Nevada. The state minimum wage rates may be increased annually based upon changes in the cost of 
living index, which would in turn increase the minimum cash wage for tipped employees. 

Prepared by Division of Communications, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor 

https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm#foot8
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The information above was last revised January 1, 2017. 

The Wage and Hour Division tries to ensure that the information on this page is accurate, but individuals 
should consult the relevant state labor office for official information. 

 
New York State Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers 
December 31, 2016 through December 30, 2017 
 
https://labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/factsheets/pdfs/p717.pdf  
 

Hospitality Industry 

  New York City Long Island and  Remainder of  

  Large Employers Small Employers Westchester New York State 

  (11 or more (10 or fewer County   

  employees) employees)     

Service 
Employees $9.15 Cash Wage $8,.75 Cash Wage $8.35 Cash Wage $8.10 Cash Wage 

  $1.85 Tip Credit $1.75 Tip Credit $1.65 Tip Credit $1.60 Tip Credit 

Food Service $7.50 Cash Wage $7.50 Cash Wage $7.50 Cash Wage $7.50 Cash Wage 

Workers $3.50 Tip Credit $3.00 Tip Credit $2.50 Tip Credit $2.20 Tip Credit 

Other Industries 

  $8.30 Cash Wage $7.95 Cash Wage $7.55 Cash Wage $7.35 Cash Wage 

All Other When tips are at least When tips are at least When tips are at least 
When tips are at 
least 

Industries  $2.70 per hour $2.55 per hour $2.45 per hour $2.35 per hour 

Except $9.35 Cash Wage $8.90 Cash Wage $8.50 Cash Wage $8.25 Cash Wage 

Building  When tips are at least When tips are at least When tips are at least 
When tips are at 
least 

Service $1.65 per hour, but less 
$1.60 per hour, but 
less 

$1.50 per hour, but 
less 

$1.45 per hour, 
but less 

  than $2.70 per hour than $2.55 per hour than $2.45 per hour 
than $2.35 per 
hour 

Building Service   No tip credit is available in this industry     

     Overtime: 

    For tipped workers, employers must pay overtime hours worked at time-and-one-half the  

minimum wage rate, less the applicable tip credit. 

   

 

https://labor.ny.gov/formsdocs/factsheets/pdfs/p717.pdf

