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State of Vermont 
Buildings & General Services 
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4 Governor Aiken Avenue 
Montpelier, VT 05633-7001 
bgs.vermont.gov/propman  

[phone] 802-828-3390 
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Agency of Administration 

Allen Palmer 
Property Management Specialist 

Department of Buildings & General Services 
Division of Property Management 

August 6, 2015 

Joint Fiscal Committee 

RE: Request to consider approval of Less Than Fair Market Value Lease 

Dear Committee members: 

Commissioner Obuchowski has requested that I prepare a memo outlining the history of the 

LANDLORD-TENANT relationship between the State of Vermont and the Chittenden Unit for Special 
Investigations (CUSI). Additionally, I want to take this opportunity to let the Committee know how 

much the Commissioner and I support CUSI and their important mission. This exercise is an attempt to 

follow the law. 

CUSI is under the auspices of The Chittenden Children's Advocacy Center, Inc. and has occupied 3,907 

SF of State owned space at 50 Cherry Street in Burlington since 1999. 

During their tenancy, the State has charged CUSI $1,000.00 per year in rent, while the FFS rate has 
ranged from $33,639.27 in in FY 04 to $50,673.79 in FY15. Originally it was documented through an 
"agreement", but more recently the State and CUSI have executed a lease outlining this arrangement. 

In 2014, Commissioner Obuchowski became aware that the State's actions were in violation law since it 

was leasing this space to a non-State entity at less than Fair Market Value (FMV). 

The State is using its Fee For Space rate for the Burlington Area to establish FMV. 

The Fee for Space (FFS) program creates a square footage cost that is based on the "sum of expenses" to 

operate the building. Thru this mechanism the tenant rent is based on actual cost of the space. An 
analysis of the cost difference between what CUSI paid and what should have been paid when compared 

to the State's Fee For Space (FFS) Program is attached here: 
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CUSI LEASE PAYMENT COMPARISON TO FFS RATES IN 

BURLINGTON 
YEAR CUSI PAYMENT FFS RATE 

FY04 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	8.61 

FY05 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	8.09 

FY06 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	9.60 

FY07 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	10.25 

FY08 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	10.14 

FY09 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	11.79 

FY10 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	13.00 

FY11 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	13.05 

FY12 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	13.24 

FY13 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	12.47 

FY14 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	13.46 

FY15 $ 	1,000.00 $ 	12.97 

TOTAL $ 	12,000.00 

SF FFS TOTAL PAYMENT DELTA CUSI SUBSIDY 

3,907 $ 33,639.27 $ 	32,639.27 $ 32,639.27 

3,907 $ 31,607.63 $ 	30,607.63 $ 30,607.63 

3,907 $ 37,507.20 $ 	36,507.20 $ 36,567.20 

3,907 S 40,046.75 $ 	38,046.75 $ 39,046.75 

3,907 $ 39,616.98 $ 	38,616.98 $ 38,616.98 

3,907 $ 46,063.53 $ 	45,063.53 $ 45,063.53 

3,907 $ 50,791.00 $ 	49,781.00 $ 49,791.00 

3,907 $ 50,986.35 $ 	49,986.35 $ 49,986.35 

3,907 $ 51,728.68 $ 	50,728.68 $ 50,728.68 

3,807 $ 48,720.29 $ 	47,720.29 $ 47,720.29 

3,907 $ 52,588.22 S 	51,588.22 $ 51,588.22 

3,907 $ 50,673.79 $ 	49,673.79 $ 49,673.79 

TOTAL AMOUNT OF 

$533,969.69 $ 	521,969.69 $ 521,969.69 CUSI SUBSIDY 

Although the CUSI lease started in 1999, THE FFS program did not develop until 2004. The Data above 

illustrates the amount of money that BGS has subsidised CUSI from 2004 through FY15. 

As you can see, the State has subsidized CUSI's rent significantly ($521,969.69) over the past 12 years 
based on a comparison of established the FFS rate and the fee CUSI paid. 

In 2014, the Legislature passed the language stipulating that the State and CUSI would have a lease in 

place by July 1, 2015 that started CUSI on a gradual path to paying the State's FFS rate. The resulting 
lease called for Fair Market Value to be accomplished in incremental steps by July 1, 2018, see 

APPENDIX A. 

Because CUSI was unable to budget for a rental increase in FY16, they returned to the Legislature and 

requested a stay on the language shown in APPENDIX A. In response to their plea, the Legislature 

passed language in ACT 26 CAPITAL APPROPRIATIONS BILL of 2015, see APPENDIX B. 

In response, the SOV and CUSI have agreed that due to CUSI's inability to budget for the agreed upon 

rent increase in the lease executed in FY 2015, the lease rate for FY2016 would remain at $1,000.00 per 

year with the proviso that CUSI present the Commissioner of BGS by March 1, 2016 with an incremental 

plan to bring their rent up to the State's FFS rate by July 1, 2019. 

2 



40^°04ERMONT 
State of Vermont 
Buildings & General Services 
Property Management Services 
4 Governor Aiken Avenue 
Montpelier, VT 05633-7001 
bgs.vermont.gov/propman  

[phone] 802-828-3390 
[fax] 	802-828-6501 

Agency of Administration 

The attached lease #376 memorializes that agreement. I request that you approve the enclosed lease as is 
required in 29 V.S.A. § 165(h) SEE APPENDIX C. 

Thank you, 

Allen Palmer 

APPENDIX A. 

ACT 176 of the 2013-2014 Legislative Session 
Sec. E.112 USE OF STATE SPACE; CLARIFICATION 
(a) Notwithstanding 29 V.S.A. § 165(h) the Commissioner of Buildings 
and General Services shall extend through June 30, 2015 the lease for space for 
the Chittenden Unit for Special Investigations at current payment rates. For 
fiscal year 2016 and beyond, the Commissioner shall consult with the Director 
of States' Attorneys and Sheriffs and the Director of the Chittenden Unit for 
Special Investigations and develop a long-term lease or fee-for-space 
arrangement. In the event such arrangements include a payment below  
prevailing market prices, it shall be presented to the Joint Fiscal Committee as  
required by 29 V.S.A. 165(h) for approval at a regularly scheduled Joint 
Fiscal Committee meeting after September 1, 2014.  
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APPENDIX B. 

ACT 26 CAPITAL APPROPRIATIONS BILL 

No. 26 Page 24 of 45 2015 
VT LEG #309636 v.1 
* * * Policy * * * 

* Buildings and General Services * * 
Sec.23. LEASING PROPERTY; FAIR MARKET VALUE 
(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly that any leases for State-owned space in any State-
owned building, structure, or other real property under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of 
Buildings and General Services that are in existence prior to the effective date of this act shall be 
renewed at fair market value by July 1, 2019. 
(b) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services shall evaluate whether to sell any State-
owned building, structure, or other real property that is being leased under fair market 

APPENDIX C 

29 V.S.A. § 165(h) 

• (h) No State-owned space in any State-owned building, structure, or other real property 
under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of Buildings and General Services may be leased, 
occupied, or licensed for any purpose for less than its fair market value as determined by the 
prevailing area market prices for comparable space or property, except as follows: 

(1) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services may lease or license State-owned property 
under his or her jurisdiction for less than prevailing area market prices to municipalities, nonprofit 
organizations, school districts, or to persons whose proposed activities are determined by the 
Commissioner to serve a public purpose and when the term of the lease or license is less than three 
years. 

(2) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services may lease or license State-owned 
property under his or her jurisdiction for less than prevailing area market prices with the approval 
of the Joint Fiscal Committee when the term of the lease or license is three years or longer, or when 
the lease or license requested is a renewal of a lease or license issued pursuant to subdivision (1) of 
this subsection. 
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LEASE#376 

between 

THE STATE OF VERMONT 
DEPARTMENT OF BUILDINGS AND GENERAL SERVICES 

and 

Chittenden Children's Advocacy Center, Inc. 
For 

Chittenden County Unit for Special Investigations 
(CUSI) 

This lease, made and entered into this .• 	day of ..... 	 , 2Oj. by and between: 

The State of Vermont, Department of Buildings and General Services, 2 Governor Aiken Avenue, Montpelier, 
VT 05633-5801, hereinafter referred to as STATE, 

and 

Chittenden Children's Advocacy Center, Inc. for Chittenden County Unit for Special Investigations 
(CUSI) 50 Cherry Street Suit 102, Burlington, Vermont 05401, hereinafter referred to as TENANT, 

WITNESSETFI 

In consideration of the mutual covenants and agreements hereinafter set forth, the parties do covenant and agree 
as follows: 

1) The STATE hereby demises and leases to the TENANT, subject to all of the conditions and terms 
contained herein, the following described premises, hereinafter referred to as the "leased space": 

2) 3907 square feet of office space located on the ground floor space at the State owned building 
located at 50 Cherry Street in Burlington and commonly known as the FORMAC Building. 
THE LANDLORD acknowledges that a portion of the demised space is used by members of 
the CUSI task force. 

3) TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the said leased space, with appurtenances, for the term of ONE (1) 
year commencing on July 1, 2015 for use by the TENANT. 

4) The TENANT shall not assign this Lease and shall not sublet the leased space except with the 
prior written consent of the STATE, which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld. 
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5) Either party shall have the right to terminate this lease by giving the other party at least ninety 
(90) days' prior written notice of its intention to terminate. The TENANT will nay the remaining 
balance due on any fit-up costs in one lump sum, together with the final rental payment. 

6) The TENANT shall pay rent to the STATE for the said leased space at the following rate: 

Beginning July I, 2019, the STATE shall have the right to adjust the rent based on the FY16 Capital 

Annual Cost per 
Start date End date Square Foot Annual Rent 

07/01/2015 I 06/30/2016  NA j 	$ 	1,000.00 

Monthly Rent 
1 	NA  

9) It is further agreed that the CHTrTENDEN CHILDREN'S ADVOCACY CENTER, INC. Policy 
Board will present to the Commissioner of BGS on or before March 1, 2016, their plan to bring CUSI into 
compliance with Section 23 of ACT 26, The Capital Appropriations Bill as passed by the Vermont 
Legislature and signed by the Governor in Legislative year 2015, see APPENDIX A. 

10) Rental payments are to be made monthly in advance; each monthly payment is due on the first day of the 
month. The first month's rent will be prorated as to the actual occupancy date. 

11) The rental payments shall be sent to: 

BGS Accounting 
6 Baldwin Street 
Montpelier, VT 05633-7401 

12) If any monthly payment of rent is not paid in full when due, the STATE reserves the right to charge a late 
payment fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), plus interest on the balance of rent due at a rate of twelve percent 
(12%) per annum. The State reserves the right to charge a late payment fee each and every month Tenant 
fails to pay rent in full when due. 

13) In the event of a change of ownership during the term of this Lease the STATE shall notify the TENANT, 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, that the ownership of the property has been transferred. Said 
notice mailed to address listed on page 1, shall specify how, when, and to whom rental payments shall be 
made. 

14) In the absence of express, written agreement between STATE and TENANT to the contrary, if TENANT 
holds over beyond the expiration of the lease, the state reserves the right to increase the rent to 150% of 
the current lease rate. Insofar as is applicable, the covenants and agreements set forth herein shall remain 
in force during any period of holding over. 
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15) 	The STATE shall provide to the TENANT, during its occupancy of said leased space, as part of the rental 
consideration, the foliowin (T.  

AIR CONDITIONING 
ELECTRICITY 
GENERAL INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR MAINTENANCE 
ffF 
HOT WATER 
JANITORIAL SERVICES AND SUPPLIES 
LAWN CARE 
PEST CONTROL 
REPLACEMENT OF LIGHT BULBS 
SNOW REMOVAL AND SANDING OF PARICING AREA(S) 
SNOW REMOVAL AND SANDING OF WALKWAYS AND DOORWAYS 
TRASH/RECYCLING DISPOSAL 
WATER AND SEWER 

In addition, the STATE shall provide, at the tenant's expense, the following: 

VOICE/DATA INSTALLATION, OPERATION, AND REPAIR 

16) It is further understood and agreed that the TENANT shall obtain and pay for the following: 

RENTER'S INSURANCE 

in an amount appropriate to cover TENANT'S equipment and personal property. Prior to assuming 
occupancy, the TENANT shall provide the STATE with a certificate of insurance to show that this 
coverage is in effect. It is the responsibility of the TENANT to maintain current certificates of insurance 
on file through the lease term. The acceptance of such certificates of insurance should in no way be 
construed as an indication of the state's opinion regarding the sufficiency of such coverage. 

17) The STATE shall maintain the leased space in good repair and tenantable condition during the term of 
this lease. The phrase "good repair and tenantable condition" means maintaining the leased space in a 
condition which complies with Vermont's fire safety, electrical, plumbing, health, and building codes, 
Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Act (VOSHA) standards, applicable BGS policies, and any 
other applicable state or federal laws or regulations. 

18) For the purposes of so maintaining the leased space, the STATE reserves the right, at reasonable times, to 
enter and inspect the leased space and to make any necessary repairs thereto. 

19) The TENANT shall give the STATE written notice of any defects in the demised leased space. The 
STATE agrees to remedy the defects with due diligence. If the defect or damage arose from the act or 
negligence of the TENANT or of the TENANT's agents, employees, or invitees, then the STATE shall 
remedy the defect with due diligence and back-charge the TENANT for the reasonable cost of the repair. 
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20) 	TENANT agrees that all personal property brought into the leased space shall be at the sole risk of the 
TENANT and that the STATE shall not be liable for the theft thereof or any damage thereto occasioned 
from the acts of any person other than STATE, its agents, or its employees. 

21) 	If the leased space is totally destroyed by fire or other causes, this lease shall terminate immediately. In 
the event of partial destruction or damage that renders the leased space temporarily untenantable, either 
party may terminate this lease by giving to the other party ten (10) days' written notice. The STATE 
may, if the parties so agree, repair and restore the leased space to be fully tenantable in accordance with 
the provisions hereof, in which case the rent shall be proportionately and fairly abated until the repairs are 
completed. This provision shall not be construed to excuse or relieve either party from any liability 
incurred as a result of such total or partial destruction or damage. 

22) 	TENANT shall not place a load on any floor of the leased space exceeding the floor load per square foot 
which the floor was designed to carry and which is allowed by any law. 

23) 	TENANT shall not permit its agents, employees, or invitees to smoke anywhere in the building or to loiter 
at the building entrances for the purposes of smoking. The STATE may, but shall not be required to, 
designate an area for smoking outside the building. 

24) 	Hazardous materials: 

a) TENANT shall not handle, process, store, release, or use any hazardous or toxic materials in or on the 
leased space without the express written consent of the STATE, which may be withheld at its sole 
discretion. TENANT shall comply in all respects with any applicable law, ordinance, regulation, or 
ruling relating to environmental protection or to the presence, use, generation, storage, release, 
containment, or disposal of hazardous or toxic materials. 

b) TENANT shall indemnify, defend, and hold the STA 1 I harmless from and against any and all damage, 
cost, loss, liability, or expense (including reasonable attorneys' fees) which may be ineurred by the 
STATE by reason of, resulting from, or arising in any manner whatsoever out of the breach of the 
TENANT'S obligations contained in this paragraph. 

25) 	Except as may be expressly provided in this lease, TENANT shall not make, or cause to be made, any 
changes to the leased space, the building, the building systems, or any part thereof without STATE'S 
prior written consent. Requests for such written consent shall be submitted in writing to: BGS Property 
Management, 4 Governor Aiken Avenue, Montpelier, VT 05633-7001 or via e-mail to any property 
management employee. 

26) 	On or before the expiration date, TENANT shall remove from the premises, at TENANT'S expense, all 
tenant-owned equipment and personal property. 
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271 	No later than ninety (90' days prior to the lease expiration date TENANT shall nroyide to the STATE a 
list of all renovations, alterations, or fixtures made or installed by TENANT and specify which fixtures 
TENANT intends to remove. TENANT shall repair any damage to the leased space that was caused by 
the installation or removal of said fixtures. The STATE reserves the right to require TENANT, at 
TENANT'S expense, to restore the leased space to its pre-lease condition OR to restore the property to its 
pre-lease condition and charge the TENANT for the full cost of such work. 

28) 	Each of the following is a "default" by TENANT under this lease: 

a) Failure of TENANT to pay rent when due. 

h) Failure of TENANT to comply with any other term of this lease, and the failure continues for thirty (30) 
days following STATE'S written notification to TENANT of the noncompliance. If compliance cannot, 
with diligence, be reasonably accomplished within that 30-day period, TENANT shall have as long as is 
reasonably necessary to fully comply, provided that TENANT commences compliance within that 30-
day period and thereafter pursues compliance to completion with diligence. 

c) Commencement by TENANT of any legal action seeking any relief from its debts under any law, or the 
commencement of any such action against TENANT by a third party, if such action is not dismissed 
within sixty (60) days. 

d) Appointment of a receiver, trustee, custodian, or other similar official for TENANT or for a substantial 
portion of TENANT'S assets. 

29) 	If a default occurs, STATE may, at any time during the continuance of the default; give notice to 
ENANT that this lease shall terminate on the date specified in that notice, which date shall not be 

less than thirty (30) days from the date of notice. If STATE gives that notice, the tenancy shall 
expire on the date set forth in that notice. TENANT's obligations under this lease, however, 
survive the termination of the tenancy. 

30) 	The failure of the STATE to insist upon strict performance of any of the terms, conditions, or covenants 
herein shall not be deemed a waiver of any rights or remedies that the STATE may have and shall not be 
deemed a waiver of any subsequent breach or default in the terms, conditions, and covenants contained 
herein. 

31) 	The remedies of the STATE herein shall be cumulative and not alternative or exclusive of any other right 
or remedy available to the STATE. 

32) 	Applicable Law: This agreement will be governed by the laws of the State of Vermont. 

33) Independence, Liability: The TENANT will act in an independent capacity and not as officers or 
employees of the State. 

The TENANT shall defend the State and its officers and employees against all claims or suits arising in 
whole or in part from any act or omission of the TENANT or of any agent of the TENANT. The State 
shall notify the TENANT in the event of any such claim or suit. and the TENANT shall immediately 
retain counsel and otherwise provide a complete defense against the entire claim or suit. 
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After a final judgment or settlement the TENANT may request recoupment of specific defense costs and 
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34) Insurance: Before commencing this Lease the TENANT must provide certificates of insurance to show 
that the following minimum coverages are in effect, as applicable. It is the responsibility of the 
TENANT to maintain current certificates of insurance on Me with the State through the terra of the 
Lease; annual updates must be provided throughout the term. 

Workers' Compensation: With respect to all operations performed, the TENANT shall carry workers' 
compensation insurance in accordance with the laws of the State of Vermont. 

General Liability and Property Damage: With respect to all operations performed under the Lease, the 
TENANT shall carry general liability insurance having all applicable major divisions of coverage 
including, but not limited to: 

Premises - Operation 
Independent Contractors' Protective 
Products and completed Operations 
Personal Injury Liability 
Contractual Liability 

The Policy shall be on an occurrence form and limits shall not be less than: 

$1,000,000 Per Occurrence 
$1,000,000 General Aggregate 
$1,000,000 Products / completed products aggregate 
$50,000 Fire Legal Liability 

Automotive Liability: The TENANT shall carry automotive liability insurance covering all motor 
vehicles, no matter the ownership status, used in connection with the Lease. Limits of coverage shall not 
be less than: $500,000 combined single limit. 

No warranty is made that the coverage and limits listed herein are adequate to cover and protect the 
interests of the Landlord for the Landlord's operations. These are solely minimums that have been set to 
protect the interests of the State. 	s  

TENANT shall name the State of Vermont and its officers and employees as additional insureds for 
liability arising out of this Agreement. 

35) No Gifts or Gratuities: Other than the demised and leased Premises. TENANT shall not give title or 
possession of any thing of substantial value (including property, currency, travel and/or education 
programs) to any officer or employee of the State during the term of this Lease. 
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36) 	Set off: The STATE may set off any sums which the TENANT owes the STATE against any sums due to 
the TENANT under this agreement: provided. however. that any set off amounts due to the STATE OF 
VERMONT as taxes shall be in accordance with the procedures more specifically provided hereunder. 

37) 	Taxes due to the STATE: 

a) TENANT understands and acknowledges responsibility, if applicable, for compliance with State tax 
laws, including income tax withholding for employees performing services within the State, payment of 
use tax on property used within the State, corporate and/or personal income tax on income earned within 
the State. 

b) TENANT certifies under the pains and penalties of perjury that, as of the date of this agreement, the 
TENANT is in good standing with respect to, or in full compliance with, a plan to pay any and all taxes 
due to the State of Vermont. 

e) TENANT understands that final payment under this agreement may be withheld if the Commissioner of 
Taxes determines that the TENANT is not in good standing with respect to, or in full compliance with a 
plan to pay, any and all taxes due to the State of Vermont. 

d) TENANT also understands that the STATE may set off taxes (and related penalties, interest, and fees) 
due to the State of Vermont, but only if the TENANT has failed to make an appeal within the time 
allowed by law, or an appeal has been taken and finally determined and the TENANT has no further 
legal recourse to contest the amounts due. 

38) 	This lease represents the entire agreement between the parties on the subject matter. All prior agreements, 
representations, statements, negotiations, and understandings shall have no effect. This lease may not be 
modified or amended except by written instrument, said instrument to be executed in the same manner as 
this lease. 

39) 	Upon execution of this agreement it is agreed that this lease agreement is binding upon the parties hereto, 
their heirs, administrators, executors, successors, and assigns. 
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the =ties hereto executed this Lease on the day and year first above written. 

CHITTENDEN CHILDREN'F, ADVOC CV IF:ENTE4.11. 

by: 	 --y-,1•-• • 

TEA NT 

State of Vermont 
	 County, ss. 

At 	 „in  said county and state, this 7day of 	 , 
IV 

	personally appeared and acknowledged the foregoing instrument by 
him/her subscribed ukbe his/her free act and deed Chittenden Children's Advocacy Center, Inc. 

9 

'Notary Public 
My commission expires: 2/10/1 c,/ 

STATE OF VERMONT 

by: 
Michael J. Obuchowski, Commissioner 
Buildings and General Services 

State of Vermont 
Washington County, ss. 

At Montpelier, in said county and state, this 	day of 	, 20 , Michael J. Obuchowski 
personally appeared and acknowledged the foregoing instrument, by him subscribed, to be his free act and deed 
and the free act and deed of the STATE OF VERMONT. 

P.efore me, 

Notary Public 
My commission expires: 2/1 0/ 
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APPENDIX A. 

ACT 26 CAPITAL APPROPRIATIONS BILL 

No. 26 Page 24 of 45 2015 
VT LEG #309636 v.1 

* * * Policy * * * 
* * * Buildings and General Services * * * 
Sec. 23. LEASING PROPERTY; FAIR MARKET VALUE 
(a) It is the intent of the General Assembly that any leases for State-owned space in any State-owned building, 
structure, or other real property under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner of Buildings and General Services that 
are in existence prior to the effective date of this act shall be renewed at fair market value by July 1, 2019. 
(b) The Commissioner of Buildings and General Services shall evaluate whether to sell any State-owned building, 
structure, or other real property that is being leased under fair market value. 

Pqtv-.; 9 of 


	Page 1
	Page 2
	Page 3
	Page 4
	Page 5
	Page 6
	Page 7
	Page 8
	Page 9
	Page 10
	Page 11
	Page 12
	Page 13

