Renewable Energy Standard Reform Working Group

Act 33 of 2023 creates the Legislative Working Group on Renewable Energy Standard Reform is created to draft legislation to be considered by the General Assembly during the 2024 Legislative session.

In addition to submitting draft legislation, the Working Group shall report on the following:

(1) whether any changes to Vermonts existing renewable energy requirements, or other energy policies, are needed to increase grid stability, resiliency, modernization, and reliability;

(2) identifying any barriers to moving to a 100 percent renewable standard for all electrical utilities by 2030;

(3) recommending cost effective procurement policies to increase new renewable energy, storage, and flexible load management to offset increasing in-State load, improve grid stability and resiliency, and that consider integrated resource planning electric load growth projections;

(4) whether increasing the requirement for out-of-state renewable procurements within or delivered into the ISO-New England territory can ensure affordable electric rates;

(5) evaluating the impact legislative recommendations may have on Tier III implementation;

(6) evaluating the impact recommended legislative changes to procurement programs will have on Vermont jobs and the Vermont economy;

(7) how current programs impact environmental justice focus populations, households with low income, and households with moderate
income and how a revised Renewable Energy Standard can ensure that benefits and burdens are distributed equitably; and

(8) how any changes to the Renewable Energy Standard will address the inequity of distribution of benefits of renewables between different residential properties.

Committee Members
Jeffrey Cram - Senior Manager and Deputy Director of Facilities Engineering, GlobalFoundries
William Driscoll - Vice President, Associated Industries of Vermont
Michael Lazorchak - Regulatory Compliance Manager, Stowe Electric Department
Shana Louiselle - Communications and Public Relations Manager, Vermont Electric Power Company
Brian Evans-Mongeon - General Manager, Village of Hyde Park
Candace Morgan - Director of Corporate Affairs, Green Mountain Power
Ken Nolan - General Manager, Vermont Public Power Supply Authority
Christopher Pearson - Sierra Club
Louis Porter - General Manager, Washington Electric Cooperative
Brian Shupe - Executive Director, Vemont Natural Resources Council
Darren Springer - General Manager, Burlington Electric Department
Peter Sterling - Executive Director, Renewable Energy Vermont
Rebecca Towne - Chief Executive Officer, Vermont Electric Cooperative
Ben Edgerly Walsh - Climate and Energy Program Director, Vermont Public Interest Research Group
Mia Watson - Special Programs Manager, Vermont Housing Finance Agency
Chase Whiting - Staff Attorney, Conservation Law Foundation
Jennifer Knauer - Facilitator, Jennifer Knauer LLC
Ellen Czajkowski - Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel
Joyce Manchester - Senior Economist/Associate Fiscal Officer, Joint Fiscal Office
Julia Richter - Fiscal Analyst, Joint Fiscal Office
Sorsha Anderson - Senior Staff Associate, Joint Fiscal Office
Featured Resources
Published on Nov 6, 2023 by Department of Public Service ; Department of Public Service
Published on Oct 4, 2023 by Public Service Department
Published on Oct 4, 2023 by Public Service Department
Published on Sep 19, 2023
View All